Waynne Kwon

Described for producing performances that are ‘larger than life with boundless emotion’ (Limelight Magazine) and for being a cellist with ‘an absolute mastery of technique’ with ‘a sensitive and expressive musicianship’ (Blue Mountains Gazette), Australian-Korean cellist Waynne Kwon has established himself as one of the outstanding cellists of his generation.

To play solo cello requires an absolute mastery of technique that may allow a sensitive and expressive musicianship to emerge, and this young man seems to have that in spades.
-Blue Mountains Gazette

Waynne has performed as soloist with orchestras such as the BBC Philharmonic, Blackburn Symphony Orchestra, Penrith Symphony Orchestra and Concertante Ensemble and has performed in prestigious venues around the world such as the Sydney Opera House, Angel Place City Recital Hall, Seoul Arts Centre, Wigmore Hall, Bridgewater Hall, Southbank Centre,  King’s Place and St. John’s Smith Square. Recently he has been announced a 2022 City Music Foundation Artist.  


Along with his solo career, Waynne is a keen chamber musician where he performs regularly with duo partner pianist Victor Lim with whom he won the 2020 Tunnell Trust Music Award. He was also a founding member of the Louko Piano Trio who went on to win all the chamber music prizes at the RNCM, along with the Manchester Mid-day Concert Series and Beethoven Piano Society of Europe Chamber Music Competition. 


He also enjoys working as an orchestral musician, having performed as principal cello with Manchester Camerata, Sinfonia Cymru and Manchester Collective as well as co-principal with the London Symphony Orchestra.  


Waynne completed his PGDipAS (Performance), Master of Music and Bachelor of Music at the RNCM with Hannah Roberts. During his time at the RNCM, Waynne was awarded the Sir John Barbirolli Cello Prize, RNCM Concerto Competition, Leonard Rose Award for the best final recital and the RNCM Gold Medal.  


He is extremely thankful for the support of the Haworth Trust, the John Hosier & Biddy Baxter Scholarship, Countess of Munster Musical Trust, Help Musician’s UK, Australian Elizabethan Theatre Trust, Australian Music Foundation and the Tait Memorial Trust.